Orientation to Health Care

 

Orientation to Health Care
February 18–March 15, 2019
24/7 Access

 

Comment from live attendee:
"This introduction course is very well organized and covers just the right amount of information to help professionals in the health care industry. Thank you!"

 

The U.S. health care delivery system is vast and always changing. Understanding its size, scope, and complexity can help improve the performance of anyone who works in health care. In this health care 101 course, you will learn how to better navigate your own system/organization, gain a general comprehension of the language of health care (and its many acronyms), and get an overview on the health care landscape. This course is intended for those who may have recently moved into health care from an outside industry or may just want an update on the U.S. health care system.  

In this course, containing 6 hour-long webcasts, faculty will present on the following four areas of the health care system, highlighting their key characteristics, challenges, and future impact on health care:

Module 1: Health Care Consumers
Tuesday, February 12 from Noon-1pm Central (1-2pm Eastern)
Thursday, February 14 from Noon-12:20 pm Central

Module 2: Insurers/Managed Care Organizations
Tuesday, February 19 from noon-1pm Central (1-2pm Eastern)
Thursday, February 21 from noon-12:20pm Central (1-1:20pm Eastern)

Module 3: Physicians
Monday, March 4 from noon-1pm Central
Wednesday, March 6 from 12:00-12:20 pm Central

Module 4: Hospitals and Post-Acute Care Facilities
Monday, March 11 from noon-1pm Central (10-11am Pacific)
Thursday, March 14 from noon-12:20pm Central (10-10:20am Pacific)


Upon completing this course, you will be able to:

  • Describe the major structural elements of the American health care system
  • Determine the key drivers of the health care system
  • Identify the health care system’s major groups and their key characteristics
  • Understand the relationship among the key players in the health care system
  • Understand some economic fundamentals of the health care system

 

Each topic has two webcasts. The first webcast is focused on providing in-depth content around that specific topic, and the second webcast you can listen to the live informal Q&A and review the discussion board assignment comments.